US-based Chinese Physicist Wins Dirac Medal

The International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) has just awarded its 2018 Dirac Medal and Prize to three US-based physicists, including China’s Dr WEN Xiao-Gang. Each of the three winners contributed independently to the field of physics that furthers the understanding of novel phases in strongly interacting many-body systems, introducing original cross-disciplinary techniques. Dr WEN, Beijing-born tenured Professor at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, pioneered the concept of topological order as a new principle to understand gapped quantum systems. Dr WEN was among the first group able to study at universities in China after the Cultural Revolution.


The other two winners are Indian-born Subir Sachdev of Harvard University and Vietnamese-born Dam Thanh Son of the University of Chicago.


The ICTP’s Dirac Medal is awarded each year on the 8th of August to scientists who have made significant contributions to theoretical physics. The first award was given in 1985, in honour of P.A.M. Dirac, one of the greatest physicists of the 20th Century.

Comments are closed.


Copyright © 2023 ·  All Rights Reserved ·  China Higher Ed