ANU Forms A Joint Institute in Shandong

Australian National University became one of the first Group of Eight (Go8) universities to establish a joint institute through the SDU – ANU Science College in Weihai, Shandong Province. The joint institute is partnered with Shandong University (with the main campus in Jinan, Shandong), ranked 23rd in Shanghai Ranking (Ruanke, formerly Jiaotong Ranking), with nearly 50,000 full-time students. The new campus will teach Maths, BioScience, Applied Maths, Physics and Chemistry bilingually. The number of students the joint institute will take is capped to 1,200 (with 80 students per discipline per intake). ANU has a total of three MOE approved joint programs (including one with Shandong University); one of these programs have been through the MOE’s review process – the Master of Management Program with Tsinghua is entirely taught in Chinese. Other joint institutes established by Australian universities in recent years include University of Tasmania’s West College (2016), Monash Suzhou Graduate School (2012) and China Central University Wollongong Institute Wuhan (2016).

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2020 ·  All Rights Reserved ·  China Higher Ed